Current Northern Territory Legislation Database

Open database 

Whilst every care has been taken in their preparation, the documents on the Current Legislation database should only be used as a guide and no responsibility is taken or accepted for their accuracy. Acts and subordinate legislation printed by the Government Printer remain the authoritative versions.

Welcome to the Current Northern Territory Legislation Database.  This database contains all the current consolidated Acts and subordinate legislation of the Northern Territory of Australia.  This database is the result of the combined efforts of the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel, the Legislative Assembly, the Department of the Attorney-General and Justice (formerly the Department of Justice) and the Department of the Chief Minister.

Each consolidated document contains amendments made to the original document that are in force. Amendments that have been made but are not in force are not included. The date on which a consolidated document is shown as being in force is the date on which the last amendment of the document came into force.

Each consolidation is also available in Word and PDF.  To view, download or print the Word or PDF version, click on the icon.

The Word version of the consolidation has links available in the TOP.

Open the Word attachment, at the TOP place the cursor on the page number, a hand will appear, then click the provision number.  The link will take the reader to the selected provision.

Historical consolidations of Acts and subordinate legislation of the Northern Territory are available on the Northern Territory Legislation History Database.  Bills introduced in the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory, and numbered Acts and subordinate legislation of the Northern Territory, are available on the Register of Legislation Database.

This database, the Northern Territory Legislation History Database and the Register of Legislation Database are also available on the Hansard & Legislation page of the Northern Territory Government website at

Copyright of documents on these 3 databases is retained by the Northern Territory.

If you have a query about any of the databases, contact the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel on (08) 8999 7967 or (08) 8999 7944.