Safer communities

The Department of the Chief Minister is committed to a safe, resilient, liveable, inclusive Territory where people participate.  The department supports the Northern Territory Government key priority of ‘Safer Communities’ - every Territorian has the right to feel safe and secure.

To understand the Priorities of Territory Government as it relates to a whole of government approach, please visit

The Department of the Chief Ministers key areas of focus for delivering on the ‘Safer Communities’ priority include:


The Territory Government is working with police, Larrakia Nation and service providers to break the cycle of repeated antisocial behaviour and has announced a 5-point plan to fix the problem. This needs a holistic and strategic response that addresses the many reasons, and causes of antisocial behaviour.

Find out more

NT Police and Territory Families have identified up to 20 young people at any given time who regularly commit property and other offences in Palmerston. Police have also confirmed that youth represent 73.1% of apprehensions for break-ins in Palmerston. Additionally around 80 young people are at risk, and beginning to disengage from education.

Breaking the Cycle of Youth Crime in Palmerston is a targeted three-pronged strategy to:

  • Intervene with families before kids do the wrong thing
  • Make sure there are consequences for those who have done the wrong thing
  • Engage all young people in Palmerston to be part of a strong community

Find out more

The Northern Territory Government is committed to breaking the cycle of youth crime and antisocial behaviour in Alice Springs.

The Breaking the Cycle of Youth Crime plan will deliver a suite of measures to make Alice Springs safer.

Find out more

Last updated: 17 October 2019

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.