About the Remuneration Tribunal

The Remuneration Tribunal is an independent statutory body that undertakes inquiries into the remuneration and entitlements of key Northern Territory office holders.

The tribunal’s reports and determinations are tabled in the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly.

The Tribunal does not have a role in setting salaries for NT Supreme Court Judges, as these are linked to Federal Court Judge salaries.


Annual Inquiry – entitlements of Assembly members

In February 2017, the Remuneration Tribunal Conducted an inquiry into the entitlements of Legislative Assembly members, parliamentary office holders, ministers and members of the Executive Council.

Annual Inquiry – entitlements of Local Court Judges

In February 2017, the Remuneration Tribunal commenced its annual inquiry into the entitlements of Local Court Judges.

The Reports and Remuneration Tribunal Determinations for both Local Court Judges and Members of the Legislative Assembly have been provided to the Minister. Once tabled, and Subject to a 10 sitting day disallowance period, is scheduled to become effective on 1 January 2017.


Chairperson: Mr Michael Martin OAM

Member: The Hon Sydney Stirling


Assistant to the Tribunal
GPO Box 4396
Darwin NT 0801 
Phone: (08) 8999 6539
Fax: (08) 8999 6084
Email: Remunerationtribunal@nt.gov.au

Last updated: 27 March 2018