Aboriginal Affairs Sub-Committee of Cabinet

The Aboriginal Affairs Sub-Committee of Cabinet is an important voice to government.

Established in early 2017, the Aboriginal Affairs Sub-Committee of Cabinet is Chaired by the Chief Minister, and includes a majority of Aboriginal representation including four Aboriginal Members of the Legislative Assembly (one of whom is also the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for Education and Minister for Workplace Training), and five Aboriginal Advisors from regions across the Northern Territory.

The Sub‑Committee of Cabinet will advise and monitor whole of government approach to the NT Government’s Aboriginal Affairs agenda including policy direction and implementation in the areas of:

  • progressing Treaty discussions with Aboriginal Territorians and the broader public;
  • ensuring land and sea ownership delivers on the economic and social aspirations of Aboriginal Territorians;
  • providing oversight and guidance on the development and delivery of the Local Decision Making policy and its implementation; and
  • the development and monitoring of an NT Aboriginal Affairs Strategy, including the Territory’s responsibilities as part of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Closing the Gap refresh.

The Sub-Committee meets up to four times a year in locations across the Territory.

Aboriginal Advisors

Aboriginal Advisors are important to the Sub-Committee ensuring local lived regional and community experiences are being heard at highest level of government.

The five Aboriginal Advisors represent regional areas of Central Australia, Barkly, Big Rivers, East Arnhem and Top End.

Expressions of Interest Open

Are you committed, dedicated and passionate about Aboriginal Affairs in the NT?

Expressions of Interest are now open for an Aboriginal Advisor to represent the Barkly region.

Download the nomination form (563.4 kb)
Download the flyer (332.0 kb)

Email oaa@nt.gov.au

Last updated: 18 March 2019