Community Champions program

The Northern Territory Government has committed $18 million over the next three years to support remote community economic development through the community champions program.

The program is focused on creating an enabling environment for economic development and job creation in 13 remote communities across the Northern Territory.

Thirteen chief executives are community champions, each is allocated to different communities. 

CommunityCommunity championDevelopment liaison officer
BorroloolaGreg Shanahan
Chief Executive, Department of Attorney General and Justice
Louise Beilby
Mike Chiodo
Chief Executive, Department of Local Government and Community Services
Terry Braun
Tiwi Islands John Coleman
Chief Executive, Department of the Chief MInister
John Berton
Groote EylandtKen Davies
Chief Executive, Department of Education
May Bury
Dr Len Notaras
Chief Executive, Department of Health
Jody Clarke
GaliwinkuDave McHugh
Chief Executive, Department of Infrastructure
Matt Majid
GunbalanyaRod Applegate
Chief Executive, Department of Lands, Planning and the Environment
Darryl Ryder
UtopiaJodie Ryan
Department of Treasury and Finance
Rebecca Moore
Michael Tennant
Chief Executive, Department of Business
Jeanie Govan
ManingridaAlister Trier
Chief Executive, Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries
Cindell Cray
Yulara DistrictTony Mayell
Chief Executive Officer, Tourism NT
David Kerrin
NtariaRon Kelly
Chief Executive, Department of Mines and Energy
WadeyeLuke Bowen
General Manager, Northern Australia Development Office

The community champion and a development liaison officer work closely with the nominated community to create and identify potential projects.

This work is supported by an audit of existing and required infrastructure.

A five-year infrastructure investment plan is being developed for each community, and will assist infrastructure investment coordination across all levels of government to enable more sustainable local economies and create local jobs.

This program is closely connected to the Department of Business, especially programs aimed at supporting and growing business in the bush.


Phone: (08) 8951 5670

Last updated: 03 June 2016